Updated November 1, 2026.
Wisdom is an outsourced dental billing service that offers insurance verification as an add-on. Azops Dental is a dedicated, standalone verification service that writes full coverage breakdowns directly into your dental software. If you are looking to outsource your billing and want to bundle verification, Wisdom is an option. If you want to keep your billing in-house and need deep, automated verification, the two products solve very different problems. Here is the honest breakdown.
Key takeaways
- Wisdom offers verification only as an add-on to its dental billing service. You cannot purchase standalone verification from them without committing to their billing platform.
- Wisdom provides PMS updates and a PDF breakdown. Its verification page does not specify the individual structured benefit-table fields it updates.
- Azops Dental is a standalone service whose proprietary connector writes coverage details directly into the benefit table in your dental software, enabling the software to automatically calculate patient portions and reuse group plan data.
- Azops Dental allows clinics to configure multiple custom breakdowns per practice. While each form supports up to 80 questions, practices can apply different breakdowns to the same patient, meaning there is no limit to the number of questions you can ask for a specific case.
- Wisdom charges a $99 monthly base fee plus a per-verification cost of $8.95 for full breakdowns and $1.95 for failed attempts. Azops Dental charges a flat monthly fee for unlimited new-patient and new-plan primary benefit breakdowns, including retries. Eligibility and benefit-period renewal reverification are optional add-ons.
- Azops Dental is SOC 2 certified. We did not identify a public Wisdom SOC 2 certification in the reviewed materials.
What Wisdom does
Wisdom is a managed dental billing service. Its team handles insurance billing, claims aging, and patient billing. As an add-on to this core service, they offer insurance verification. They connect to your practice management system, pull the patient list, and use a mix of technology and people to check portals and call insurance carriers.
Wisdom updates verified information in the PMS and compiles it into a PDF report. Its breakdowns include deductibles, maximums, category coverage, frequency limits, remaining benefits and exclusions. Its verification page does not specify which of those details populate structured benefit-table fields. Wisdom verification
Where the two approaches differ
Wisdom updates verified information in the PMS and compiles it into a PDF report. Its breakdowns include deductibles, maximums, category coverage, frequency limits, remaining benefits and exclusions. Its verification page does not specify which of those details populate structured benefit-table fields. Azops Dental’s connector workflow writes detailed benefits into the dental software’s structured records, with plan/group matching and duplicate prevention.
Customization also needs to be compared at the form level. Practices can configure their own insurance verification forms in the Azops Dental dashboard. A clinic can configure multiple different verification breakdowns, such as a general breakdown, an endo breakdown, or a surgical breakdown. Because you can apply different breakdowns to the same patient, you can ask as many questions as you need for a specific case. The practice can also ask one-off questions by typing them into the appointment note in their dental software, which Azops Dental pulls and uses as context during the verification call.
A question limit and a procedure-code limit describe different things. Azops Dental supports up to 80 custom questions per form; Wisdom supports customization for 10 procedure codes. Compare the actual details each form returns for your practice rather than treating those counts as equivalent units.
For example, a payer portal might show a $2,000 annual maximum while the carrier’s fax shows $1,500. Both fields contain an answer, but the answers disagree. Azops Dental compares available fax, portal and carrier-call information, flags the contradiction and brings it into a carrier call for clarification alongside missing information. Comparing populated values adds a safeguard against portal/fax inconsistencies that would otherwise pass through a missing-fields-only check.
Dental software integrations and write-back
Wisdom updates verified information in the PMS and compiles it into a PDF report. Its breakdowns include deductibles, maximums, category coverage, frequency limits, remaining benefits and exclusions. Its verification page does not specify which of those details populate structured benefit-table fields. Official documentation
Azops Dental supports 22 dental software systems, with custom end-to-end integrations that handle detailed verification information and organize it inside your practice's software:
- Frequency limitations and code-level coverage percentages
- Downgrades, deductibles, and annual or lifetime maximums
- Patient treatment and claim history
- Benefit breakdown PDFs and appointment notes
- Plan/group matching, duplicate prevention, and organized documentation
The supported systems are Dentrix, Open Dental, Eaglesoft, CareStack, Curve Dental, Denticon, Dolphin, Ortho2, Tops (cloud), OrthoTrac, WinOMS, Cloud 9, PracticeWorks, SoftDent, Easy Dental, DentiMax, Oryx, TDO, tab32, iDentalSoft, DSN and XLDent.
Detailed integration walkthroughs show how Azops Dental organizes verification information in the supported dental software. The Open Dental connector, for example, uses the native two-way API for PDFs, notes and employer/group benefit tables. Field mappings depend on the system; a human reviewer checks every verification before delivery.
Pricing and predictability
Wisdom combines a fixed base fee with a per-verification model. They charge $99 per month per location, plus $8.95 for a full coverage breakdown, $2.95 for basic eligibility, and $1.95 for failed eligibility verifications. They also charge an additional $2 for expedited requests.
This model creates a predictable minimum threshold of billing every month, plus a highly unpredictable cost based on usage. Practices cannot control how many patients walk through the door or how many times a verification fails because a patient gave the wrong member ID or date of birth. When you are busy and scheduling more patients, your verification bill spikes alongside your schedule.
Azops Dental charges a flat monthly fee based on your practice type, starting at $325 per month. The base package includes unlimited primary-plan benefit breakdowns for new patients and new plans, using your practice’s configured questions, with benefit-table write-back included. Eligibility checks for every appointment and benefit-period renewal reverification are optional add-ons; repeated checks to refresh deductibles before appointments are not included in the base package. You can see the package details and optional add-ons on our pricing page.
Compliance and team location
Azops Dental is SOC 2 certified, a third-party audit performed to ensure the necessary security controls are in place.
We did not identify a public Wisdom SOC 2 certification.
Comparison table
| Dimension | Azops Dental | Wisdom |
|---|---|---|
| Service focus | Standalone verification only | Billing service with verification add-on |
| Dental software integrations and write-back | 22 supported dental software systems; frequency limitations, code-level coverage percentages, downgrades, deductibles, maximums, patient history, PDFs, notes, plan/group matching and duplicate prevention | PMS updates and a PDF breakdown; structured benefit-table field mappings are not specified on its verification page |
| Custom verification forms | Yes (up to 80 questions per form, unlimited forms) | Yes (limited to 10 procedure codes) |
| One-off questions via appointment note | Yes | No |
| AI voice calls to payer lines | Yes | No (human team calls) |
| Requested fax benefits | Yes | No |
| Human QA on every verification | Yes | No |
| Pricing model | Flat monthly by practice type; unlimited new-patient/new-plan primary breakdowns; eligibility and renewal reverification are add-ons | $99/mo base + per-verification fees |
| Failed verification fees | No | $1.95 per failure |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 certified | Not found |
| Institutional VC funding | Frst VC | Yes ($28M total disclosed) |
Choosing a verification service
If your practice wants to hand off all of its billing and admin to one outside team, Wisdom is the stronger fit. Their offering is wide, and verification is one task inside a service that also covers billing, claims, and patient statements.
If insurance verification is the problem you actually want solved, Azops Dental wins. We specialize in verification, so we take on the entire insurance verification and eligibility workflow and write the full breakdown directly into your benefit table, which leaves no manual work for your team. Because pricing is a flat monthly fee, you also get a better return without the unpredictable usage-based surcharge that comes with paying per verification.
FAQ
Can I buy Wisdom insurance verification without their billing service?
No. Wisdom offers insurance verification strictly as an add-on to its dental billing service. If you only want to outsource or automate verification, Azops Dental provides it as a standalone service, with no yearly commitment required.
Does Wisdom write benefits into the PMS table?
Wisdom updates verified information in the PMS and compiles it into a PDF report. Its breakdowns include deductibles, maximums, category coverage, frequency limits, remaining benefits and exclusions. Its verification page does not specify which of those details populate structured benefit-table fields. Azops Dental provides detailed connector walkthroughs showing benefit-table organization and plan/group matching.
How many custom questions can Azops Dental ask per patient?
A single custom verification form in Azops Dental supports up to 80 questions. However, clinics can configure multiple different breakdowns (such as general, endo, or surgical) and apply them to the same patient. Wisdom’s published customization description refers to 10 procedure codes. Questions and procedure codes are different units; compare what each form returns rather than treating the counts as equivalent.
How does pricing compare?
Wisdom charges a $99 monthly base plus per-check fees. A full breakdown costs $8.95, and you are charged $1.95 even if a verification fails. Azops Dental starts at $325 per month, with a flat fee based on your practice type for unlimited new-patient and new-plan primary benefit breakdowns, including retries and benefit-table write-back. Eligibility for every appointment and benefit-period renewal reverification are optional add-ons.
Is Wisdom SOC 2 certified?
We did not identify a public Wisdom SOC 2 certification in the reviewed materials. Azops Dental is SOC 2 certified and HIPAA compliant.
How do the dental software integrations compare?
Wisdom updates verified information in the PMS and compiles it into a PDF report. Its breakdowns include deductibles, maximums, category coverage, frequency limits, remaining benefits and exclusions. Its verification page does not specify which of those details populate structured benefit-table fields. Azops Dental supports frequency limitations, code-level coverage percentages, downgrades, deductibles, maximums, patient history, PDFs, notes, plan/group matching and duplicate prevention across 22 dental software systems. Detailed integration walkthroughs show the connector workflow and field mapping.
Method and sources
Integration descriptions reviewed October 16, 2026: official Wisdom documentation.
Capabilities and pricing reflect each vendor's public materials as reviewed on July 24, 2026.
- Wisdom Pricing: Public pricing confirms the $99/mo base fee, $8.95 full breakdown, $2.95 eligibility, $1.95 failed verification, and $2 expedited fees. It also confirms the 10 custom code limit. (Source)
- Wisdom PMS Integration: Verified information is updated in the PMS and compiled into a PDF; the verification page does not specify the individual structured field mappings. (Source)
- Wisdom SOC 2: No public certification was identified in the materials reviewed for this comparison.
- Azops Dental: Entry reflects our own verification workflow, SOC 2 status, and transparent pricing.
Related comparisons
- Azops Dental vs eAssist
- Azops Dental vs Dental Claim Support
- Azops Dental vs Dentalogic
- All comparisons
Submit three test patients in under five minutes, without a sales call. Review the completed sample breakdown and supporting call recordings, transcripts and source faxes where obtained. Start your free trial.
Azops Dental's pricing calculation formula
How Azops Dental's price is calculated
This is the pricing calculation formula for Azops Dental. Azops Dental is a flat monthly subscription priced by practice type. General, pediatric and perio, endodontic and oral surgery practices pay per treating provider they bill for: add up, for each billed provider, the number of them times the per-provider rate below. Orthodontic practices pay by monthly new-patient exam volume in flat tiers. Unlimited primary-plan benefit breakdowns for new patients and new plans are included, and there is never a per-verification fee. Eligibility and benefit-period renewal reverification are optional add-ons.
Your price follows your practice type, not anyone's academic title. Only general, pediatric and perio practices bill for hygienists. Endodontic and oral surgery practices are billed on the doctor alone, and Azops Dental never charges for front-desk staff or technicians.
Benefit-table write-back is included in every rate below, where our proprietary connector writes the full benefit breakdown directly into your dental software. Those rates cover the primary plan for every new patient and every new plan. Optional add-ons are priced separately: primary and secondary, which verifies up to two plans per patient; benefit-period renewal reverification, which retrieves a fresh breakdown when an existing patient’s plan renews; and unlimited eligibility, where we confirm eligibility for every appointment, new or existing, through payer portals and carrier calls rather than EDI.
For orthodontic practices the tier is set from a three-month rolling average of new-patient exams on monthly plans, and a six-month rolling average on yearly plans.
| Practice type and billed providers | Primary only | Secondary add-on | Eligibility add-on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orthodontics (by new-patient exams per month) | |||
| 1–35 exams/month | $325 | +$65 | +$65 |
| 36–60 exams/month | $490 | +$100 | +$130 |
| 61–90 exams/month | $650 | +$130 | +$130 |
| 91–140 exams/month | $845 | +$165 | +$130 |
| 141+ exams/month | Custom | Custom | Custom |
| General, Pediatric & Perio | |||
| Dentist | $325 | +$65 | +$40 |
| Dental hygienist | $65 | +$35 | +$20 |
| Endodontics | |||
| Endodontist | $550 | +$50 | +$50 |
| Oral Surgery | |||
| Oral & maxillofacial surgeon | $845 | +$65 | +$65 |
| Multi-specialty & DSO | |||
| Any mix of the above | Custom | Custom | Custom |
Example: a general, pediatric or perio practice with 3 dentists and 2 hygienists pays 3 × $325 + 2 × $65 = $1,105/month for primary plans. An orthodontic practice whose three-month rolling average falls in the 61–90 exam tier pays $650/month for primary plans. Endodontic and oral surgery practices are billed on the doctor alone. Start with a 10-day pilot with unlimited verifications. No yearly commitment.
